ARIKANKI VILLAGE (Sound of silence)

The birth of a new moon
twinkled  to me like a tiny little creature
That overslept  valuable memories
Today, daylight is bidding the darkness farewell
And i thought the sun has barely graced the skies.

Life in reality is indeed a race
Perhaps, for those who run it with wisdom
And for the fools, it was the sound of silence,
That keep calling them at one side
And chanting of Noise from another
Should i say, they were far away?

But i was told that, not
Every moon belongs to the sky
Or should i say the sky was
Painted in indigo and the moon
Could not walk in it?

Well, i pray
Mother of nature, Please!
Beckon to me with whistle of hope
Arikanki village needs spring for the future
Ilu Awon Akoni need more hands to norture
The generation to come.

Please, mother
Do not allow the fools’ sound of snore
To drowse the crowing of the cock at dawn.
Give us the grace to paddle this canoe
In the right direction.


Published by Crystal E Poet

My name is Ochonogor I Excel, a student of History in the prestigeous university of Ife (O.A.U). I took pleasure in creative writing, using my golden pen to do justice to the principle of Humanity. I pioneerd CRYSTAL POET ARENA. (ACE Chapter, Ondo.) i grew up in an atmosphere where words is an interal part of culture.

2 thoughts on “ARIKANKI VILLAGE (Sound of silence)

  1. I’m just receiving this.
    Thanks for this honour.
    On Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 12:17 AM Crystal Poet Arena wrote:
    > Crystal E Poet posted: ” The birth of a new moontwinkled to me like a > tiny little creatureThat overslept valuable memoriesToday, daylight is > bidding the darkness farewellAnd i thought the sun has barely graced the > skies. Life in reality is indeed a racePerhaps, fo” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment